Accelerated Paralegal Technology

DEC – 310.C0

Improve your skills in the field of law.

Find out more

Have you already completed the general courses at the collegial level? Would you like to develop your skills in law and begin a career in this satisfying field? The Accelerated Paralegal Technology program is an excellent choice! In 5 semesters of courses that combine both theoretical and practical training, you will acquire the knowledge and skills required to work in the legal profession. You will be able to work in a law firm, a notary’s office or in the civil service as a Paralegal. After this college program you will also be able to pursue a university degree in law if you want to.

The Accelerated Paralegal Technology ends with a 525-hour internship in a company where you can apply the knowledge you acquire during this college program. This internship is a great way to start a career in law with confidence and peace of mind.

Target degree: DCS in Accelerated Paralegal Technology - 310.CO
Course software: Juris Concept / Juris Évolution integrated management software

Admission criteria

Accelerated Paralegal Technology - 310.C0
- Application Fee 50 $*
- Registration Fee 200 $*

Fees per semester:
- Tuition Fees 1 920 $
- General Services 60 $*
- Student Activities 20 $*
- Total 2 000 $

*Non-refundable

Additional tuition fees per semester will be imposed on Canadian students who are considered non-residents of Quebec.

All information about tuition fees

Accelerated Paralegal Technology - 310.C0
- Application Fee 100 $*
- Registration Fee 250 $*

Fees per semester:
- Tuition Fees 5500 $
- General Services 60 $*
- Student Activities 20 $*
- Total 5580 $

*Non-refundable

It is essential that international students obtain a study permit before leaving their country.

All information about tuition fees for international students



OBJECTIVES OF PARALEGAL TECHNOLOGY TRAINING

This training in Paralegal Technology prepares you to perform several functions with various legal professionals, including commercial law, family law, criminal law, etc. You will be able to edit and submit files for analysis and research. For example, you will learn how to write pleadings and several other types of legal documents for a law firm. You will also be prepared to participate in meetings with clients and assist lawyers during a trial.




BILINGUAL TRAINING

Each semester will give you the chance to perfect your bilingualism by working as a team in a second language. In order to comply with the needs of the labour market and the instructions of the Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur concerning the application of the approach by competency, you will be able to:
- Read second-language doctrine and jurisprudence
- Learn basic writing skills in a second language
- Carry out bilingual research

You will also participate in various extracurricular activities related to your training as a Paralegal. You will even have the opportunity to visit the Palais de justice de Montréal (Montreal Courthouse) and attend a trial!





SIMULATED TRIAL AND COMPUTER LABORATORY

During your training as a Paralegal you will have a unique experience at O’Sullivan College of Montreal. A simulated trial is scheduled for the semester during the course Legal Procedures Practicum. You and your teammates will then be able to simulate a legal dispute as a special project. The goal is to familiarize yourself and prepare for the job market. In addition, the program has many hours of training in computer laboratories, with the primary aim of bringing together both theoretical and practical knowledge of law. This includes courses in civil litigation, computerized legal research, corporate law and real estate law research.





PROFESSIONAL PERSPECTIVES

As a graduate of the DCS in Paralegal Technology, you will finally be able to have a career in criminal law, commercial law, family law, immigration law, civil law, administrative law, notary law, real estate law or in a bailiff’s office. You will have the skills required by law firms and notary offices, bailiffs working in governmental and para-governmental bodies, clerks of various courts and corporate litigation. You can even become a bailiff if you want to.

DISCOVER POTENTIAL EMPLOYERS

- Borden Ladner Gervais
- Blake Cassels & Graydon
- Couche-Tard
- C.R.A.C.
- Davies
- Dentons
- Fasken Martineau
- FNF
- Gowling
- Groupe MTY
- Hainault Gravel
- Ivanhoé Cambridge
- Langlois
- Lapointe Rosenstein Marchand Melançon
- Lavery
- LegalLogik
- Marque d'Or, une société Thomson Reuters
- McCarthy Tétrault
- McMillan
- Me Jacques Znaty
- Miller Thomson
- Ministère de la Justice du Canada
- Ministère de la Justice du Québec
- Palais de justice
- Paquette & Ass.
- Robic
- Robinson Sheppard Shapiro
- Silver Sandiford
- Smart & Biggar
- Sûreté du Québec
- Stikeman Elliott
- Transcontinental
- and many others…





COURSE CURRICULUM

Administrative Law (45 h)
Civil Law I (75 h)
Civil Law II (75 h)
Civil Law III (60 h)
Civil Law IV (45 h)
Civil Law V (45 h)
Civil Procedures I (60 h)
Civil Procedures II (60 h)
Commercial Law (45 h)
Computer-Assisted Legal Research (60 h)
Corporate Law (60 h)
Criminal Law I (45 h)
Drafting of Deeds (45 h)
Drafting of Legal Procedures (45 h)
Internship* (525 h)
Introduction to the work Function (45 h)
Labor Legislation and Procedures (45 h)
Legal Procedures Practicum (45 h)
Legal Research (75 h)
Penal Procedure (45 h)
Software I / Paralegal (60 h)
Software II / Paralegal (45 h)
Title Search (45 h)

N.B. : The College reserves the right to modify this program without advance notice.




AGREEMENT WITH LAVAL UNIVERSITY

Following an agreement with Laval University, our graduates of the Paralegal program who wish to continue their studies in Law at Laval University will be recognized, with an equivalent of 12 credits applicable to their program of study.

AGREEMENT WITH UNIVERSITÉ DE SHERBOOKE

Following an agreement with Université de Sherbrooke, our graduates of the Paralegal program who wish to continue their studies in Law at Université de Sherbrooke, will be given a dispense for four courses or will be recognized an equivalent of 6 credits applicable to their program of study.

Ready to study with us?

Admission Form

DEC EN TECHNIQUES JURIDIQUES ACCÉLÉRÉ

310.C0

Perfectionnez-vous dans le domaine juridique.

Je veux en savoir plus

Vous avez déjà complété les cours collégiaux de la formation générale? Vous souhaitez vous perfectionner dans le droit et entamer une carrière dans ce magnifique domaine? Cette formation accélérée en Techniques juridiques est un excellent choix! En 5 sessions de cours qui combinent des notions théoriques et un apprentissage pratique, vous acquerrez les connaissances ainsi que les compétences requises pour occuper un emploi dans le milieu légal. Vous pourrez ainsi travailler dans un cabinet d'avocats, une étude de notaires ou dans la fonction publique comme technicien juridique. À la suite de ce programme collégial, vous aurez aussi la chance de poursuivre une formation universitaire en droit, si vous le souhaitez.

Cette formation accélérée en Techniques juridiques se termine par un stage de 525 heures en entreprise, réparties sur cinq semaines. Les connaissances acquises durant ce programme collégial sont alors mises en application. Ce stage est un excellent moyen de débuter une carrière en droit avec confiance et aisance.

Diplôme visé : DEC en Techniques juridiques - 310.CO
Logiciels enseignés : Logiciel de gestion intégrée Juris Concept / Juris Évolution.

Voir les critères d’admission

TECHNIQUES JURIDIQUES ACCÉLÉRÉ - 310.C0
- Demande d’admission 50 $*
- Droits d’inscription 200 $*

Droits par session:
- Droits de scolarité 1 920 $
- Services accessoires 60 $*
- Activités étudiantes 20 $*
- Total 2 000 $

*Non remboursables

Des droits de scolarité additionnels par session seront exigés des étudiants canadiens qui ne pourront se qualifier en tant que résidents du Québec.

Toutes les informations sur les droits de scolarité

TECHNIQUES JURIDIQUES ACCÉLÉRÉ - 310.C0
- Demande d’admission 100 $*
- Droits d’inscription 250 $*

Droits par session
- Droits de scolarité 5500 $
- Services accessoires 60 $*
- Activités étudiantes 20 $*
- Total 5580 $

*Non remboursables

Il est essentiel d'obtenir un permis d'études avant de quitter son pays.

Toutes les informations sur les droits de scolarité pour les étudiants internationaux



OBJECTIFS DE LA FORMATION EN TECHNIQUES JURIDIQUES

Cette formation en Techniques juridiques vous prépare à exercer plusieurs fonctions auprès des divers professionnels du droit, notamment le droit commercial, familial, criminel, etc. Vous serez en mesure de monter et de présenter des dossiers pour fins d'analyse et de recherches. Vous saurez, par exemple, rédiger des actes de procédure et plusieurs autres documents juridiques pour une firme d’avocats. Vous serez aussi préparé pour participer à des rencontres avec les clients et assister les avocats durant un procès.




UNE FORMATION BILINGUE

Chaque session, vous aurez la chance de parfaire votre bilinguisme en élaborant un travail d’équipe en langue seconde. Afin de vous conformer aux besoins du marché du travail et aux directives du ministère de l'Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur relativement à l’application de l’approche par compétences, vous pourrez notamment :
- Lire les textes de doctrine et de jurisprudence en langue seconde.
- Rédiger occasionnellement en anglais.
- Effectuer des recherches bilingues.

Vous participerez également à différentes activités parascolaires apparentées à votre formation en Techniques juridiques. Vous aurez même l’occasion de visiter le Palais de justice de Montréal et d’assister à un procès!





PROCÈS SIMULÉ ET LABORATOIRE INFORMATIQUE

Durant votre formation en Techniques juridiques, vous vivrez une expérience unique au Collège O’Sullivan à Montréal. En effet, un procès simulé est prévu à la cinquième session durant le cours Laboratoire de droit litigieux. Vous et vos coéquipiers pourrez alors simuler un litige juridique à titre de projet spécial. L’objectif est de vous familiariser et de vous préparer au marché du travail. Ainsi, le programme compte de nombreuses heures de formation en laboratoire informatique, dans le but premier de réunir connaissances théoriques et pratiques du droit. Cela concerne, entre autres, les cours consacrés aux procédures civiles, à la recherche juridique informatisée, au droit des entreprises et à la recherche en droit immobilier.


PERSPECTIVES PROFESSIONNELLES

Comme finissant du DEC en Techniques juridiques, vous pourrez enfin faire carrière en droit criminel, commercial, familial, de l'immigration, civil, administratif, notarial, immobilier ou dans les bureaux d'huissiers de justice. Vous posséderez les compétences demandées par les bureaux d’avocats et de notaires, les huissiers de justice œuvrant au sein d'organismes gouvernementaux et paragouvernementaux, les greffes de divers tribunaux et contentieux d'entreprises. Si vous le souhaitez, vous pourrez même devenir huissier de justice.

DÉCOUVREZ DES EMPLOYEURS POTENTIELS

- Borden Ladner Gervais
- Blake Cassels & Graydon
- Couche-Tard
- C.R.A.C.
- Davies
- Dentons
- Fasken Martineau
- FNF
- Gowling
- Groupe MTY
- Hainault Gravel
- Ivanhoé Cambridge
- Langlois
- Lapointe Rosenstein Marchand Melançon
- Lavery
- LegalLogik
- Marque d'Or, une société Thomson Reuters
- McCarthy Tétrault
- McMillan
- Me Jacques Znaty
- Miller Thomson
- Ministère de la Justice du Canada
- Ministère de la Justice du Québec
- Palais de justice
- Paquette & Ass.
- Robic
- Robinson Sheppard Shapiro
- Silver Sandiford
- Smart & Biggar
- Sûreté du Québec
- Stikeman Elliott
- Transcontinental
- et bien d’autres…





LISTE DES COURS DU PROGRAMME

Droit administratif (45 h)
Droit civil I (75 h)
Droit civil II (75 h)
Droit civil III (60 h)
Droit civil IV (45 h)
Droit civil V (45 h)
Droit commercial (45 h)
Droit corporatif (60 h)
Droit criminel (45 h)
Examen de titres immobiliers (45 h)
Introduction à la fonction de travail (45 h)
Laboratoire de droit litigieux (45 h)
Législation et procédures ouvrières (45 h)
Procédure civile I (60 h)
Procédure civile II (60 h)
Procédure pénale (45 h)
Recherche juridique (75 h)
Recherche juridique informatisée (60 h)
Rédaction de procédures judiciaires (45 h)
Rédaction de projets d’actes (45 h)
Stage* (525 h)
Utilisation de logiciels I / Techniques juridiques (45 h)
Utilisation de logiciels II / Techniques juridiques (60 h)
Utilisation pratique de logiciels / Techniques juridiques (45 h)

Note : Le Collège se réserve le droit de modifier le contenu de ce programme sans préavis.




ENTENTE AVEC L'UNIVERSITÉ LAVAL

Selon l’entente conclue avec l’Université Laval, nos diplômés en Techniques juridiques désirant poursuivre leurs études en droit se verront accorder, par équivalence, douze crédits applicables à leur formation.

ENTENTE AVEC L'UNIVERSITÉ DE SHERBROOKE

Selon l’entente conclue avec l’Université de Sherbrooke, nos diplômés en Techniques juridiques désirant poursuivre leurs études en droit se verront donner une dispense de quatre cours ou six crédits applicables à leur formation.

Prêt à étudier avec nous?

Demande d'admission